• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Pressure washed engine bay....HELP!!!

MikeChavez

NAXJA Forum User
Just bought my first XJ about a month ago (switched over from toyotas), so yes I am a newbie! Its a '92 with 4.0L, AX15. I put 4 to 5 hundred miles on it immediately after buying it, including a full day on the trail and it ran great. My plan after that was to do some maintenance before any more driving. The rig was very dirty throughout the undercarriage and engine bay, and I thought it would be preferable to perform the maintenance minus the dirt and grime, so I decided to do some pressure washing first. I used a light duty pressure washer, cleaned the whole underside, a little bit in the engine bay, and it hasn't run right since.
At first it was ticking so loud, running so choppy, and hesitating so much that I really couldn't drive it, and a couple of times I could not get it to fire up. I immediately changed the motor oil, plugs, wires, cap, and rotor (there was a bit of moisture in the distributor cap when I pulled it off). This definitely helped. I was able to start and drive it, the tick was still there but quieter, and it was still quite rough and hesitant, especially when accelerating.
The fuel pump was very loud even when I bought the rig, so today I replaced it along with the filter, which did improve the situation. The tick is now even quieter and sometimes not there at all, and its still choppy and hesitant, just not as quite as bad.