• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Major clunking in tcase..........

Raymont

NAXJA Forum User
I heard some clunking under the jeep in 2wd, when idling around in parking lots, turning slightly, and when accelerating from a stop. It was very hard to replicate and place where the sound was comming from.

I put the jeep up on jackstands and put it in 2wd....no noise.
I then put it in 4wd and nothing.....untill i turned the wheels slightly....omg

Im new to the jeep community, but i am no idiot. Lf and rf ujoints have no play. I checked the front driveshaft, has a little bit of play in the differential but thats not the issue, at the transfercase, Sounds like there is somone in there with a 22oz framing hammer having a party! Its to the point that it shakes the motor and transmission back and forth! On the ground its fine, but up on jack stands its scary. Is a new tcase my next purchase?

The slack between the front and rear driveshaft is pretty major, haven't checked the fluid just yet, I'm sure it has been a while.....ill check it and report back.

might be your front pinion bearing....mine's shot and I clunk all the way down the road, I've had my front DS out for almost a year now cause of it