• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

8.25 Hub Removal

4WDlifeform

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys, hoping to getting around to fixing this today at some point, so quick responses would be really awesome.

Went to remove the wheel off of my moms TJ, and 2 of the 5 lugs decided to eat themselves... So, I need to either replace the hub, or two of the studs on the hub. I have never done this before... so, what am I getting into?

I'm assuming that the hub comes of the end of the axle somehow. (BTW... I'm quite certain its the 8.25, and has drum brakes. Exactly the same as my 97 XJ) So, what is best approach here? Remove hub is a definite... but how does that come off? Do I have to pull the axle shaft?

Here are some pics to confirm what I'm dealing with...

CSC_0576.jpg

CSC_0577.jpg

CSC_0578.jpg

That is a d35, no flat edge on the lower side of the housing.

Tools needed:
* GOOD quality (gearwrench or equivalent) 1/4" and/or 5/16" (I forget which) box wrench, ratcheting ones are great
* rags rags rags rags and more rags
* couple cans of brake cleaner
* RTV
* gasket scraper

Easiest way - pop the cap (probably needs a diff fluid change anyways), pull the cross pin retaining bolt (what you need that good quality wrench for... don't use a socket wrench, and don't use an open end wrench, unless you like rounding off bolts), pull the spiders, pull a c clip, yank the shaft out.

If you use an 8mm wrench, an open end wrench of any size, or a socket and ratchet on that retaining bolt, you will almost certainly be turning the air blue.

EDIT: you may be able to get new lugs in there by turning the shaft till it lines up with a spot with some space behind it, but it might require removing some of the drum brake hardware and frankly I'd rather pull a diff apart than screw around with drum brake shoes.