• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

I finally have a Cherokee!...now what?

musikman43155

NAXJA Forum User
I have a '92 Jeep Cherokee, 2 door, 4x4, 5 spd, 4.0 w/ 119,000 miles which will be delivered to me on Thursday or Friday. I am new to Jeep and auto repair in general. The Jeep was owned by a fella in the military stationed in Wyoming. He bought the Jeep from relatives in Colorado, so the XJ has spent the majority of it's life out west. The two years prior to me purchasing it, the the Jeep was used sparingly by his parents in NE OH.

The previous owner has already informed me that the Jeep needs either a master cylinder, or more likely a slave cylinder, which is why it's being trailored down.

Besides obviously fixing the slave cylinder, what else should I do to this new to me Jeep initially?

The first thing I would do is a compression test.

Next: Change ALL fluids, new air and oil filters, hoses, and belt (Goodyear Gatorback). Check the CCV system for proper operation. While the belt is off to be changed spin all of the belt-driven accessories and idlers to see if any are going out. Unless there are receipts to prove otherwise a**ume the o2 sensor has never been changed. Might as well pull all four wheels and inspect/service the brakes. Don't forget to adjust the rear drums. Inspect the condition of the flexible brake lines, they deteriorate. Don't forget to torque the wheels correctly when you put them back on. Again, without knowing the service history I would probably flush the cooling system, replace the thermostat (Stant SuperStat Premium 195 degree), be sure to check the weep hole on the WP.

Fluids:

Coolant--50/50 mix with distilled water.