• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Failed Emissions

edec374

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys.

So, I'm new at this whole working on cars thing (other than oil, fluid, and spark plugs), which is one reason I'm really glad I have my XJ :laugh3:

But I'm having issues getting it to pass MARTA to tag it. The first time, the radiator reservoir cap busted, leaving me with an over-heated car and fluid everywhere. Irby fixed that, but taking it back, it failed: epically.

The HC reading was 1005, and the limit is 225 (I think). And the CO level was 2.28, over a limit of 1.something.

What would be the cause of this? And what do we need to do to fix it?

Year? Other vehicle info?

Edit: regardless of year, check the MAP sensor (and vacuum lines to it), O2 sensor, maybe Cat if all else fails.

Last edited:
O2 sensors? Exhaust manifold? Thermostat? Temp sensor? It sounds like it's running far too rich from that HC number. How's your gas mileage? If it's below about 15 this indicates you probably are in open loop at all times. If the temp gauge never gets above 170 or so (it should sit at 210 when fully warmed up) the engine controller will never enter closed loop mode and you'll be spitting a ton of gas out the tailpipe. It also won't warm the cat up enough to really make it effective. What I'd do:

* check temp. If it's running below about 200 degrees, replace thermostat with a dealer unit (195 degree) or a Stant Premium 195 degree.
* if it's running at 200-210 now but still sucking gas and you can still smell gas on the exhaust, check if the temp sensor for the ECU is faulty. Replace as needed.
* if it's still screwed up, check for leaks in the exhaust manifold upstream of the O2 sensor that could be tricking the ECU into thinking it's running too lean.