• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Daily Driver XJ, and a front locker(lock-right)

XJ jay

NAXJA Forum User
first off i KNOW you can not run a full locker or spool in a non disco front diff, and i understand why (im a journeymen auto tech). and i know your not saposta run a ratchet style locker in the front in a daily driver as well. but i ask who has actually run a ratchet style locker in the front. what was the long term out come (worn splines on the axle/locker). the detriot true-trac isnt quite what im looking for(cost and performance wise) ive read a few guys on here have run a lock-right in the front in there daily, but didnt mention of any lock term side affects. i never use my 4x4 on dry pavement, only icy,snowy,slushy roads or when i wheel. i have stock gears(3.54) and dont plan on going bigger then my 31s or re gearing.

No experience but I would think having any non-selectable locker in the front while driving on ice would be a bad thing. One of the two front tires would loose traction. In that type of condition you wouldn't want to loose any traction. Some sort of e-locker would probably be the easiest solution, no air lines or compressor (~$120 just for an ARB compressor) required.

I run a powertrax in the rear and a detroit in the front on my 98, 4.56 gears on 33s. Here in the midwest we get plenty of icy roads. I have not had any real problems. been in for a couple of years now with syn fluid. I only drive about 5 K a year though. it does require more driver input. To be honest with you the rear locked gets me through the snow without 4 by most of the time.
Offroad it climbs like a goat.

Longevity of a lunchbox in the front? They see way less abuse than one in the rear so you could ask anyone who has ran one, not just in the front axle.