• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

My weekend project...

mhopton

NAXJA Forum User
...was to get to the bottom of my steering/drifting woes. Two different shops checked alignment with the same specs and all were good except caster was a bit low at 5.9 degrees. All suspension and steering components checked out but it was determined that the PS pump was going bad. It wasn't building pressure and really whining.

The truck is a 99, daily driver, auto, classic trim, 231 tc, 4x4 and 91k miles. I'm no mechanic, banker actually, and I'd rate my mechanic's skills a 5 on a scale of 1-10. That said, I'm not scared to give stuff a try.

So, I started with the PS pump. I followed Stu's website for instructions and with the exception of not being smart enough to remove the auxiliary fan, it went smoothly, except for trying to get the 11/32nds return hose onto the metal fitting from the gear box. That joker worked me over. I finally found the best way to get it on was to place a couple of small slits on the inside of the hose, lube it and work it on. Taking out the airbox is a must to have room to work.

After bleeding, I drove around and still had similar symptoms and the pump was really working hard to work the steering gear. So, I went up to Autozone and picked up a reman ATSCO gear for $118 with a $15 core. I used a Napa PS pump and rented the puller/pusher from autozone. The pulley was no problem to get on/off. The PS pump took probaby 2.5-3 hours total - mostly due to the return line. Again, I'm no mechanic.