• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

AW4 Transmission Problem

brianv

NAXJA Forum User
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the jeep scene as I just bought my '01 XJ a few months ago. So far I've loved everything about the truck until last night when I ran into a transmission problem. The main thing that was happening was it would rev fairly high before shifting into gear, and when I was on a hill the jeep wouldn't even be in gear and I began to roll backwards. Also, when driving, it wouldn't shift from 1-2 and 2-3 until it go to between 3500-4000rpms. Now today when I go to drive it, it just revs to like 3000rpms and barely moves. If I press the gas long enough the jeep finally begins to move but makes it to like 15mph without shifting and still revving like a mad man. I reparked it and got out and smelled something like burnt clutch. Any ideas? I may end up just getting it towed to a jeep performance shop nearby and having them look at it, I'd just rather have a good idea what's wrong before I start paying someone else to diagnose it for me. Thanks.

you could have it rebuilt. however thats expensive. sounds like your front pump and/or valvebody crapped out. the problem with a used transmission is just that: you dont know how its been used or what kind of condition its in. a quality rebuild can be expensive but to me would be well worth the money.

Check the NAC classifieds subforum, a few people have em for sale under $200 right now - I think Pedro7 has one down near your area. I have two on hand but neither is in a condition I would consider ethical to sell to another NAXJA user - one does exactly what you describe (it's in my XJ) and the other one came from a junkyard and looks like it's about to do the same thing.