• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Transmission noise

Choo_31

NAXJA Forum User
At first I thought the noise was just my tires humming, but realized it was too loud to be my tires. While driving when I put the transmission in neutral the noise completely goes away. The jeep is running fine, not hesitating or shifting funny.
Any suggestions on what this could be? I have very little knowledge when it comes to working on transmissions. I took the Jeep to a shop and they drove it around and said it needed to be completely rebuilt and wanted 2500-2800 dollars to rebuild the transmission. I might not be the smartest when it come to transmissions but I don't think I need a complete overhaul. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Always include the year and engine and in this case the tranny model when you post. Lots of differences through the years.

It's hard for us to help you with noises. What did they base their opinion of the need for a rebuild on? Just the test ride? Did they say what they thought was wrong? Any actual testing done on your transmission? The devil is in the details as they say...

You may want to get another technician from a different shop take a test ride with you and give you their opinion. Pick a smaller independent shop if there is one in your area.

For tranny issues, basics should be reviewed.

1. How many miles on this transmission?
2. What is the history of routine service (filter/fluid) changes?
3. Assume that the fluid level is correct on the dipstick and fluid is not contaminated/burned?

In the event that you do need one, forking out $2800 is pretty steep compared to the actual value of many XJs. Consider swapping in one from a salvage yard, Craigslist and the like, or see what a remanufactured one costs shipped to you.

Last edited: