• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

ongoing issue and now I'm stranded

Superflie

NAXJA Forum User
I have been chasing an issue with my 91 xj for two years now. I'll be driving along and it will start hesitating repeatedly. I found a wiring and grounding issue and its been fine for 6 months. I've checked and my fuel pump is working fine and I have spark at the plug. It will catch for a split second then hesitate a few times and die. I'm not sure if it has any bearing or not but the fuel gauge stopped working about the same time I started having this issue. Anyone please help! I'm stick in bear lake

Get a spray can of starting fluid.
See if the engine will run whil sprating that into the intake.

My original fuel pump (1991) gave out this past year.
It ran with the key on, had suffficient pressure at idle.
But the Jeep would not go over 30 mph.

So it won't start right now and you have verified spark?

Is it a strong, blue, snapping spark? Yellow or orange indicates a weak spark which may not be enough to start the engine. For weak spark, suspect the ignition coil.

If spark checks out, then I agree with the suggestion of spraying some starting fluid into the intake. It is a quick and dirty way of determining if you have a fuel delivery issue. Just because you hear the fuel pump run and you have pressure at the schrader valve on the fuel rail does NOT mean that you're getting fuel to the injectors.

Have you bypassed the fuel pump ballast resistor on the driver's side fenderwell? Have you tried swapping the relays around--mark them first so you can get them back to their original positions. Do you have a NOID light so you can check if the injectors are getting a firing impulse from the ECU?

Sounds like a intermittend CPS.