• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

bad rugged ridge experience

98CherokeeSport

NAXJA Forum User
so i created this thread to vent about a common setup that people use. so feel free to include any words of wisdom.

so i bought a brand new rugged ridge heavy duty steering setup brand new in the box from some guy. i have been running it for about six months now with no "huge" issues. i am on 6.5" of lift and 35s locked up front and rear.

so the other day i was driving down a nice gravel road at about 15mph when i lose all steering. i was able to bring it to a stopped relatively quickly and safely so no one was hurt. the passenger side tie rod end pulled straight out of the tie rod stripping all of the threads. this loss of steering caused me to lose all control. now imagine if this was on a highway at a higher rate of speed? keep this in mind...

i called rugged ridge directly and explained to them my dilemna to see if they would replace it or do anything for me. the only answer i got was "we are sorry but all we can do is give you part numbers to replace what you broke since you didnt purchase it directly from us." then i proceeded to ask them what would have happened if i was on the freeway when this happened? all they had to say was "we are sorry"

rugged ridge products and service are a waste of money and a bunch of D bags to deal with! i will never recomend their product to anyone!!!

vent over....

well it happened. never had an issue with it until then. dont know what caused it but it happened

What are no "huge" issues?

Things like this don't happen out of nowhere, there must have been something leading up to it. I just find it hard to believe that after 6 months of driving fine that the TRE popped out of the tie rod.