• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Time for a new engine?

DIKASUN

NAXJA Forum User
ok, so heres the thing. i have a 1992 xj with a 4.0. It's got over 210,000 miles on it (odometer works randomly). First of all it takes about 15 seconds of cranking to get it to start. also, I have to replace my spark plugs every month due to white chalky shit that covers them and causes misfiring and bad gas milage. Every week i have to add at least 2 quarts of oil due to a small rear main seal leak and oil being burned (smells like a 2 stroke engine). but, when everything is done right, it runs perfectly. i know how to do maintenance type things, and how to fix other problems, but i am not a mechanic. i also am 19 in college so i dont have a lot of money. are those problems easily fixable?

That's too funny. Mine's a 90, and I'm not changing the plugs every month, but other than that, I'm in the same boat. I'm even 19 and in college too.

By the spring I hope to have a new engine in mine. Until then, I'm keeping my FSM, tools, a case of oil and a gallon of coolant in the Jeep at all times.

O2 sensor might be bad
CPS sensor could also be bad
check under the oil boss where the oil filter mounts. That is where I was leaking.
Do a compression & leakdown (test to tell if its time to rebuild)
I'll try to find my info about all the sensor testing when I get home

DIKASUN said: