• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

My Homebrew 3" Lift on a 1999

xjbrian

NAXJA Forum User
I have a 1999 XJ with a 4.0L engine, automatic, NP231 transfer case, Chrysler 8.25 rear axle, and a new 3 inch budget boost. I am a noob. This post is for other noobs who are in the middle of a budget boost lift or still trying to figure out how to do it. I am sure that there are better ways to do it but I know that this works because I did it and it turned out great. It rides firmer than stock but is still very comfortable. It doesn’t squeak or rattle. It is taller so it does not feel quite as good cornering but it still feels safe and sure footed.

DSCN2045.JPG

IMG_2128.JPG

Before starting this lift I read the various Cherokee Forums to learn how to lift an XJ. The most help for me in doing this lift was from RockLizard and GoJeep. I referred to these two pages many times in the process of lifting my XJ.
http://www.rocklizardfabrications.com/home_brew_budget_boost.htm
http://www.go.jeep-xj.info/index.htm
The next link is a list of links I found very helpful.
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f11/tech-faq-links-tsbs-89273/
People seem to be asking the same questions over and over but good answers are already out there if you spend the time to find them.

Here is a summary of my lift

Part Part Number Supplier Total Price
Front Shocks Monroe 37120 amazon.com $59.94
Rear Shocks Monroe 37029 RockAuto.com $68.58
Coil Springs OME 934 Used Parts $40.00
Front Bump Stop Ext Hockey pucks EBay $12.01
U Bolts thesuspensionking.com $47.02
Clamps thesuspensionking.com $6.54
Center Bolts thesuspensionking.com $1.54
XJ Main & 2nd Leaf Jeep Used Parts $50.00
Anti-Friction Pads From donor pack Used Parts $0.00
Axle Shims Rough Country 90012 Summitracing.com $20.90
Rear Bump Stop Ext 2"x2" Scrap Steel $0.00