• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Tachometer Twitch

BigSky89XJ

NAXJA Forum User
I now own my first Jeep, an '89 XJ with approx 178,000 miles (XJ was towed behind a motor home, not sure of actual driven miles) and I am only the second owner. As I posted before, I corrected the high idle by tightening the manifold and adjusting the throttle plate (after spending over $150.00 in parts). So now I am on to fixing a minor (I hope) problem. The stock tachometer is erratic. When it does work, it is all over the map. I managed to clean most of the obvious grounds (another Renix issue I found), but no luck. As a side note, the cruise control is also non functional. The XJ is mechanically sound. I have some experience with older vehicles (my other ride is an '88 Mercury Grand Marquis) but this is my first Jeep (which I already LOVE). Could I be missing a ground or another connection not immediately obvious? She is a 4.0L auto with the Selec-trac X-fer case. Thanks.

Vacuum issues can kill the cruise. I'll bet dollars to doughnuts the vacuum harnesses are the factory originals. About $18 ea @ rockauto.com, a little more expensive at Napa but when you factor in the shipping for rockauto.com the ones from Napa are less.

Check your vacuum reservoir, behind the front bumper, passenger side. The vacuum line that feeds the reservoir likes to break right around the battery. Relocating the reservoir into the engine bay is a good idea, and eliminates about 5' of vacuum line. I put mine under the coolant pressure bottle.

The Tach gets its engine speed signal from the negative side of the coil.

Did you get the grounds on the dipstick tube? ICM, ECU, and o2 all ground there.