• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Drivetrain Noise

XJ00RHD

NAXJA Forum User
Hey all.
Finally got my rig running reliably, and it starts making noise.
It's a 2000 XJ;
4.0, AW4, 231; factory spec 8.25 with new clutch-plates; D30, ECTED & new gears.
3.5" lift w/ T-case drop & EXTRA add-a-leafs.
31x10r15 BFG MT's.

I'm trying to figure out why there's so much noise under power on the highway. I never do over 65 (which I realize because of the tire size, is more like 70), and yeah, the tires kinda howl. But between 50 and 60, if I'm on the gas at all, it sounds like I've got 40x12.5's on there. As soon as I let off, it quiets right down.
The only thing I can find that's wrong (obviously I'm no expert) is the tranny fluid is about 1/8" too full.
Could it be some other driveline component giving me trouble?

Thanks for your help, ask me anything for clarification.
~C

So a throttle-dependent noise and vibration from the rear at higher speeds? Driveshaft angles and ujoints, gears. What work was just done to the rear, your post just mentions new clutch plates?

The driveline shop that installed the ETCED in the front took apart, and replaced the seals and clutch plates in the rear. I didn't re-gear.
I think all 5 u-joints were replaced last year, plus the 2 front axle u-joints. I have NOT had the chance or change to install an SYE and 'do' the rear shaft, so, maybe that's the issue... I've been toying with the idea of pulling out the add-a-leafs, who knows if that would help.
So you're saying it's probably not anything upstream of the t-case? That'll help me sleep a little better...

I'm going to hazard a guess that with the LP D30, a lift, and a transfer case drop you have some ugly angles under that XJ, and you could be getting some noise from there.