• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Its got a leak! Wet carpet

dodgethis12

NAXJA Forum User
Ok Im an Xj newb so bare with me. ( I searched)

So last week we had alot of rain. My XJ sat outside on the car hauler still strapped down from when I brought it home. Last nite I unloaded it and got to looking underneath and noticed someone had patched the floor pans on the pass side from the bottom side above the exhaust pipe.

Upon returning to the top side, I discovered that the carpet on the pass side frt. floor pan was soaked and actually had green stuff growing on it!!! the carpet is not wet as it goes up under the dash if that makes sense....

It looks like the water is comiing in from underneath the pass side kick panel and it settling iin the lowest portion of the floor pan.

Can anyone help me? Do XJ's have a common leak problem? Where is this coming from? I thought it was the windshield gasket, but the carpet up around t he firewall is bone dry...... I think the carpet in the rear pass floor pan was damp as well.

Thanks guys...

Its a 93 XJ 4.0 auto 4 dr.

quadratec.com and rockauto.com both have them. There are a few other sites too, but those are the ones I really keep going back to.

Can anyone help me? Do XJ's have a common leak problem? Where is this coming from? I thought it was the windshield gasket, but the carpet up around t he firewall is bone dry......

Its a 93 XJ 4.0 auto 4 dr.

My leaking issue was the small vent window gasket, but that soaked the carpet, and only happened when I parked "nose downhill". It was running down the gutter, down the window and down the side of the door panel. See if your door panel is wet.