• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

235 70 15 Firestone Wildernesses on Stock XJ

wilcharl

NAXJA Forum User
Folks:

Back when all the firestone hype was up on the ford exploders, my neighbor had wilderneses (brand new) on her car and pulled them off. They are NOT the recalled tires..

Having 205 or 215 75 15s on my OEM on road only 100% stock 88 XJ that is my project car now after 10 + yrs as a daily driver, I need new tires. The LTX MS are at the end of their life. Its not driven on interstates and is driven like 1000 mles a year.

Will the wildernesses fit and what can i expect from ride ie : speed-o issues and height

Thanks

The 89 pioneer that i have been wanting (another thread) has 235 Wilderness AT's on it. Yes they do fit, Your speedo will be off, i dont know how much, and i cant tell ya about the ride height, but i can tell ya they fit on a stock suspension.

Your speedo will be off about 3mph at 60mph You will be going slower than it says I think

i can deal with 3MPH how about clearenence issues with stock ride height - sagging from time

1985xjlaredo said:
Your speedo will be off about 3mph at 60mph You will be going slower than it says I think

With larger tires, you will go faster than the speedo says you are.

Before you run them on the road check the date code in the DOT #. If these tires were taken off during the Ford recall they are quite old. The last fart of the DOT is a number code and the first 2 numbers are the week of production and the last two the year. If it is a three digit code it is pre 2000. Old tires with lots of tread are not recommended.