• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Painless/Powerstar alternator install, help...

DJ404564X4

NAXJA Forum User
96 XJ 4.0.

The old alt coming out has a different wiring harness than my new one. My suck ass Haynes manual has all kinds of blinker and radio diagrams, no alternator though...

Here's what I got....

New and old alt

alt001.jpg

factory plug..

alt008.jpg

and this..

alt004.jpg

P- Stator-OE harness
L- Indicator light- Ignition switch(+) positive
F- Voltage step up/down mode-optional switch- (-) ground....
confused.gif

S- Remote voltage sensing-(+) positive...
confused.gif

and a link to the instuctions.....

http://www.painlesswiring.com/Manuals/51002.pdf

Thanks,,,

DJ

I am far from an expert.

The factory alternator uses an external regulator in the PCM/ECU I believe.
Your new one has an internal regulator. It can be used in a 1 wire hookup. (main +12 out) (You would not use the optional harness at all)
If you do this insulate the two "sense" leads with electrical tape.

If you wish you can connect the optional harness to the two wires that were formerly connected to the two small insulated studs.

I would try it in 1 wire mode first and check the performance.

(I am assuming it physically fits, etc.)

Cheers,

Last edited:
according to Painless, Powermaster, and Poly Performance, it's correct upated version.

Don't mean to step on toes, or preach, but the early XJs used the CS-130 Delco-Remy (GM) internally regulated alternators.

Your 1996 would be using a Nippondenso, externally regulated by the PCM.

Read 5-90's post here: http://www.naxja.org/forum/showthread.php?t=1011419&highlight=alternators