• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

1990 XJ high idle (no time to search, sorry.)

Chrisc321

NAXJA Forum User
My 1990 XJ with 4.0 AW4 was running fine when I parked at the gas station. I went in and bought a 6 pack and came out. When I started it it idled at approx 3200 rpm. It never did come down, I had to drive home like this. How do I isolate either a bad TPS or IACV. I am an aircraft electrician with a pretty good DMM here at the house, I just need some specs. Thanks.

In addition, It idled fine when I put it in park to shut it off. I'm fairly certain it is not vacuum related. This just came out of the blue with no poking or prodding in the engine bay. Thanks!

i chased that same monkey in my renix era 4.0
after 2-3 tps's and an IAC, i unplugged the IAC and called it a day.... IT NEVER GAVE ME A PROBLEM AGAIN!!!!
i realize that there is some thing to fix or replace, but after cleaning c101 and adding a ground to the TPS, i was tired of it.
i tried swapping relays, and tested each relay in the series of 4-5 of them next to eachother. Good luck.
BTW, there is a write up around here that explains all of the how to step to test the iac and the tps.

I pulled the IAC, wiped the carbon off of it and stuck it back in. Now its fine but I am sure it will come back at the absolute worst possible time...

I have the opposite problem, low idle. I would pull the TB off and clean it good and it wouldn't hurt to pull the entire intake and clean it.