• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

long arm vs stock length???

Gilroyboyxj

NAXJA Forum User
So I'm new to the xj scene I have a long travel titan so I'm fresh to the jeep speed but just bought a 97 2dr, what is your guys opinion or fact on wether I should run a long arm kit for jeepspeed or stock length ?

Any info would be appreciated thanks !

Long arms will get you more articulation. A lot of guys are running short arm kits with drop brackets to get the same suspension geometry.

You should do one or the other.

I'm sure somebody will give you an better/in depth explanation.

Long arms will get you more articulation. A lot of guys are running short arm kits with drop brackets to get the same suspension geometry.

You should do one or the other.

I'm sure somebody will give you an better/in depth explanation.

Hmm where are they running the drop brackets ?

And ya I figured that long arm would drop out better I'm just wondering if its completely needed to run jeepspeed an be going through great or if short arm will still handle decent or the same, I would think LA would handle better seeing as the arms aren't at such an angle to begin with so that way they have less drastic movement then a short arm would, like they would be doing less work. But just curious what guys are racing with so I know for when I start building.

As I posted in another thread, find me a past champion that ran a LA kit. You are only dealing with 10" travel. Long arms are not necessary. In fact, I can only remember one team winning a JS race with a long-arm equipped car.

We run RE Extreme Duty 5.5" short arm kit.

Current JS points leader (and last year's champ) runs the Currie SA kit without drop brackets and he flat out hauls.