• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Hello,all Newbie here with a ?

OneBadXJ

NAXJA Forum User
Hello,I just bought my first xj,It's a 1991 lerado with 126,000 miles on it..Has power windows seats etc..Loaded model i guess..It's in nice shape no rust and good paint.However i do have some issues to deal with..The 4.0 is very strong and still holds 40 p.s.i oil pressure even when hot..But my rear main seal leaks bad,Like a quart every 500 miles..And when i stop at a stopsign all that oil getting on the exaust will smoke up the neigborhood..And my rear leaf springs are flatened out somewhat it's around 1-2 inches lower in the rear than the front..Valve cover is leaking like a siff as well..But man does she drive good..And it does not rattle anywhere when you hit rough places in the road..Very solid..4X4 is perfect as well..On to my question..JC whitney sells a cheap 2 inch lift with an add a leaf..Will i need to replace the worn leaf springs or will the add a leaf put some life back in them?..Thanks and this is one great website:loveu:

Last edited:
the add a leaf will bump you up a little for a while but will give out soon since your springs are already shot. go hit a junk yard and find you some springs swap them over cheap and right. Leafs shouldnt cost much probally less then you will end up spending on the add a leafs.

the add a leaf will bump you up a little for a while but will give out soon since your springs are already shot. go hit a junk yard and find you some springs swap them over cheap and right. Leafs shouldnt cost much probally less then you will end up spending on the add a leafs.