• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

1 of a KIND!!!!

sworks87

NAXJA Forum User
Hey all... I am a tuner turned Jeeper after very lucky insurance settlement on my SRT-4....

I knew i wanted a 4.0 cherokee when this deal fell into my lap
1999 2dr with yes thats right 33000 miles, one owner, all service records!

I am a 4wd newb so i was looking for advice on what to mod on this jeep and order of operation, what i should do first to lift and make this a solid rig

I know i want to start with a 3.5 in lift with 31's i found this whole kit from rustys:
http://rustysoffroad.com/mm5/mercha...ct_Code=RK-300SPC-XJ&Category_Code=sus_xj_kit
.... but i heard rustys is not good quality. any advice is good guys i figure all of you know what to do and what works so im all ears from here

I had the 3" Rusty's kit with the HD front coils, it was a smooth riding lift. The leaf bushings did wear out within 6 months though. I heard they changed their leaf bushings to accomodate larger bushings now though, probably as big as the OEM factory leaf bushings which should make them last longer. I have not seen any of Rusty's new stuff yet, however.

I didn't buy the kit with wheels and tires. I bought the suspension kit. I got their standard shocks, steering stabilizer, coil springs, and full leaf packs (not add-a-leaf)

I was happy with it! I wheeled it more like that than I ever did, even after I went taller. I ran the 3" lift with 30x9.50 All Terrains and 32x11.50 mud rovers.

I am in the process of replacing everything rustys on my 6.5" kit. I bought the jeep with 3k miles on the lift, and the shocks were shit already. Track bar mount sheered in half. I would look at Iron Rock Off road. Great parts and customer service!