• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Starting a Rebuild - Looking for advice

Jeeppilot

NAXJA Forum User
Hey Guys...

I've been hanging around here and reading through the forums for a while now but this is my first time
posting. I have a 99 XJ that I built back in 02. It's on 35's, Long Arms and around 8'' of lift.

Picture321.jpg

It served as my DD and trail rig for several years before I put it into some unexpectedly deep water. Haha OOPS !

Picture340.jpg

I was lucky enough to not compress any water and the engine was pretty much ok. After several fluid
changes I managed to get all the water out and got it running and back on the road. It was getting a
bit out of hand for a DD anyway and there was some work that needed done so I ended up parking it
and buying another XJ (stock) for a DD...

Well I never got around to doing the work and it ended up sitting for a couple years - Now it needs
a serious rebuild and I'm tired of seeing it sit in the state its in.

So I've got a ton of work to do... The tires are dry rotted, the underbody is getting really rusty and
needs cleaned up, the susp componants all need refinished, the signals aren't working right, it wont start,
the winch needs to be refinished and it's not functioning, a couple u joints need replaced, a/c compressor
clutch is seized up, tons of rust to take care of, Lots of fun stuff... should be a good project!

So Here's my game plan...

I'm gonna go up to 37'' BFG AT's on 17'' AEV Pintlers in Argent, I'm planning on making it a bit more
road worthy so I want to get away form Mud tires and steel wheels. I've owned BFG AT's before and
think they are amazing tires, and do really well off-road. I have 4.56's now and plan on going to lower
gears in the future but i think the gears I've got now will be ok for a while.