• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Dipping my toes in the stroker world

nochance9

NAXJA Forum User
So i've been doing tons and tons of research on strokers since my buddie just replaced his engine and gave me the old one... I'm thinking of doing a 4.7 and found this page that has helped alot http://www.cherokeeforum.com/showthread.php?t=15710&highlight=stroker But i'm totally new at engine tollerences and measurments. So i'm kinda lost in the technical parts... IE 3.895" 4.2 crank... So i have some questions and would really appreciate your guys' help.

First off, will the parts mentioned here work well?
Second, Crane cams went under so would the Comp cca 682324 work? Or any other cam suggestions would be great.
Third, do i really need a 68mm TB? would a 62mm work?
Fourth, i was looking for crank prices and found this website...

http://www.rpmmachine.com/crankshaft-kits-amc-jeep.shtml

but what is the difference between a 72-86 crank and a 87-90?

I have a 92 block and head but could easly go to the well stocked JY and pull something else if you guys think it would be a good idea. I'm allready going to get a 99+ head and intake. It's going in an 89 but i want to totally rewire it (lots of electrical ghosts and dicintagrating wires) and swich it over to OBD2 at the same time and ditch the renix. Even possible?

I know it's a lot of questions, but i don't really know who else to turn to.

Thank you for your support!

I'll answer what I can offhand.

Engine work requires greater attention to detail - and that's usually what trips people up. If you don't like working down in increments of one-thousandth of an inch (.001",) don't bother. You'll drive yourself nuts. (I happen to enjoy measurable precision.)