• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Disc. Brakes Help !!!!!!

CMAHON

NAXJA Forum User
I just converted to rear disc's on my 01 this weekend. I have read about others doing the ZJ swap with a good turn out. My issue is, that i see no improvment (maybe even worse) in stoping power. Anyone have the same result? What can i do to improve the stoping?

i did not change the prop. valve because every thread i read the poster said that it was not needed. Sorry I am new to brakes, what do you mean by bed routine

http://www.zeckhausen.com/bedding_in_brakes.htm

Also did you thoroughly clean the rotors before you installed them? I don't know if you used new or old rotors but new rotors come with oil on them. Did you thoroughly bleed them to?

I sprayed them down with brake cleaner (assuming the was enought). yes they are new also the pads and calipers. all of which i sprayed down. i bled them till no air bubbles and then went around again to be sure.

I'd have to bet on the proportioning valve or spring... swap that out and see if it gets better. Most threads I've seen indicate that you should swap that else your back brakes won't get enough pressure relative to the fronts.

The spring is actually inside the proportioning valve - it's what controls the balance of fluid sent to each set of wheels. Some people just swap the spring to avoid having to undo more brake line flare nuts. See http://www.go.jeep-xj.info/HowtoPvalve.htm for more information - hope this helps.

I sprayed them down with brake cleaner (assuming the was enought). yes they are new also the pads and calipers. all of which i sprayed down. i bled them till no air bubbles and then went around again to be sure.

brakes should be bled from the farthest circuit to the closest (closest to the MC that is.)