• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Trac Bar

JoeyClements

NAXJA Forum User
I have a 1996 XJ with a 4 inch lift. The coil spring rubs the trac bar bracket on the driver's side. It looks like a stock bracket but I am new to this. The bracket seems to have been made with a little out type of buble for lack of a better term. I ordered a RE trac bracket but the end of the trac bar of the original has a eye stud mount. I think the term is heim on the new style. I do not really want to buy a new bar but just want to change out the end of the bar to a bolt through that will work with the new bracket.

Anyone help on this topic?
Swapping the track bar end on the driver's bracket side?
What?
Thanks.
Joey
[email protected]

It sounds like you have the stock trackbar in there. With 4 inches of lift, you should have an adjustable trackbar for alignment purposes to center the axle under the vehicle. There is no way to change the end of the stock trackbar, unless you cut it off and then weld on a new end, but I would not recommend this.

If you ordered the RE bracket, you will have no choice but to purchase the corresponding RE trackbar that goes with it. RE has 2 trackbars, both have rubber on one side, but one has a heim joint on one end, which is meant to be used with the stock bracket. The other is the HD trackbar, with a superflex joint on one end that is the bar that is to be used with that bracket.

Thanks man that makes sense. I guess it is the stock bracket and bar but it seems centered. I guess if I want to play, I better go with the HD trackbar!
Thanks again for the help. I am coming along.