• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Can anyone recommend a compact CB radio?

90Pioneer

NAXJA Forum User
I am thinking of putting a CB radio into my jeep. Can anyone recommend a good quality unit that is nice and relatively compact as possible? I would like to spend in the ball park of $200 for the whole set up, but I'm willing to spend more if it would be worth while.

What's the major differences between the brands and the radios? How far can the average antenna send and receive transmissions?

This will be my first radio so I'm new to this department. Are there any good forums?

When I go wheeling in a group we usually bring Motorola radios. They have a bunch of codes and channels. Would there be a way for me to receive these transmissions on the CB radio if set properly?

I searched and 99% of the threads were "where should I mount my cb?"

Friend of mine mmounted a Cobra 75 in the ashtray of her '99...the controls are all in the removable handset so you can hide the CB when not in use.

Yeah, a cobra 75 is a good set. I run it and don't have any issues. I put the box in the center, with the attachment mounted in the fuzzy stuff the e-brake handle sits in. Check out my pictures in my sig and I've got some decent shots of the mount.

I have used a Cobra 75 for several years with good results.
I like being able to take it out, when not needed, and to use it in my other vehicles.
When we go to the desert, I plug it into my motorhome and then transfer it to the Cherokee once we are ready to wheel.

What's the major differences between the brands and the radios?

As far as im concerned, the best radios on the maret in the US right now are Galaxy and Uniden. The more you spend will not give you a radio that will talk further, per se, but a radio with more features.