• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

40 Series 2.50" flowmaster on jeep cherokee

Captainhswh

NAXJA Forum User
i have a flowmaster 40 series that i got for my 87 jeep cherokee its got the 4.0 still i was wondering if it would work. its not the delta series or what ever.
i was told by a buddy of mine who has no mechanical experience other the the walmart lube and he says you cont put em on an xj

The only issue you're going to run into is that stock pipe is 2.25" in diameter, and your muffler is 2.5" in diameter. They make exhaust pipe that can easily be found at Napa or your favorite parts store that can adapt it to work. In other words, the pipe will be 2.25" on one end and 2.5" on the other.

i put a 2.5" 40-series on my 89 cherokee. what you have to do is cut the back of the cat back until you have a 2.5" opening. put a 2.25" tailpipe on and watch for the burn stripe!

zedpapa

i have a flowmaster 40 series that i got for my 87 jeep cherokee its got the 4.0 still i was wondering if it would work. its not the delta series or what ever.
i was told by a buddy of mine who has no mechanical experience other the the walmart lube and he says you cont put em on an xj

Your Buddy is an idiot. It will fit but your pipe is 2.25" so you'd need either 2.5 piping or some adapters to put it on. It will be LOUD if thats what you are looking for.

it won't be loud if he puts the 2.25" tailpipe on it. i have this setup and it sounds great and only gets loud when i stand on it. if he wants it really quiet, put a 50 series on it.

zedpapa