• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

My idea for a rear bumper mount....opinions?

Muddy Beast

NAXJA Forum User
So I've been pondering how I want to mount my rear bumper for a long time. I'm new to fab work, just started welding two weeks ago, but am determined to make a good bumper the first time around.

63434157.gif

This is a picture of my unfinished project, but basically I'm going to run side supports into the unibody for the pieces that go under the folded quarter panels. I also plan to use the stock bumper mounts and the hitch mounts.

He's what I'm thinking of doing, I was thinking of using a 2x3 3/16 welded to my bumper (which is a 2x4 in 3/16th) and having that go about 6 inches to a flat plate of 6x4 in 3/16 for the stock mounts. Then I was thinking I'd use a long piece of angle iron, drill and weld bolts for the hitch mounts and run that all the way through the stock location, and through the bumper, and just cut it so only the side piece for the D-ring goes through the bumper and drill that for a d-ring. Then take pieces of 1/4th steel and weld that to both sides of the angle iron so a d-ring fits snug.

Am I crazy to want to use angle iron and cut a hole through everything? To me it seems it would be stronger to use the whole mounting piece as the d-ring tab then to weld on 3/4 thick CNC d-ring tab material (like AJ's DIY).

Here's a picture I drew up quickly to those who need images.
17769587.png

So will this be an acceptable design? Or would I be better off just using a 2x3 going through the unibody and bumper and just welding a DIY AJ's d-ring tab to it? Since it's so thick though I'd have to have someone else do it, as I only have a 90amp flux core.

~Scott

I already said I was going to...