• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

transmission fluid...

bmfm64

NAXJA Forum User
doin a transmission service... what fluid goes back in? i know transmission fluid, but what type? dexron mercon2 or 3 or something else? 99 xj with 4.0 and aw4/231 combo... thanks!

Dextron III

Nothing but Dex III.

Nothing but Dex III.

:bs::banghead: That is just BUNK info there!! I have been running +4 for over 3 years with grate results!! Please give correct info if you are going to do it!!

Dexlll should get 200,000++ miles of troublefree service from a AW4 with routine changes.
Why gamble?
--NOT ME!! --DEXlll ONLY.
O

:bs::banghead: That is just BUNK info there!! I have been running +4 for over 3 years with grate results!! Please give correct info if you are going to do it!!

Actually, per Chrysler, through 2006 they were still insisting that ATF +4 was not suitable for use in the AW4.

Magically, in 2007, per Chrysler, it became OK to use ATF +4 in the AW4.

That is the official record.

Why did it become ok in 2007--well, if I was a skeptic, I would say that there wouldn't be anymore AW4s out there covered under warranty, so why not?

Of course, anybody is free to put whatever they want into their transmissions.

Magically, in 2007, per Chrysler, it became OK to use ATF +4 in the AW4.

That is the official record.

And not so magically, Chrysler seems to be bankrupt.

I wonder why :looser: