• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Dana 30 questionssss

truck7575

NAXJA Forum User
I have a dana 30 front axle with the vaacum disconnect which I have replaced with a posi-lock. I was thinking about welding my spider gears on the front for a cheap locker. my question is, if I do this will i experience increased tire wear since the axle will not be truely solid unless I engage the posi-lock, i.e. the tires will be able to spin at two different speeds. Second, will I experience a decrease in turning, if so why? I pretty much drive my car to go mudding and back home and welding the gears would only be temporary until I save up enough for a selectable. Also, I am new at this so sorry, I need to know exactly how to tell what size gears I have, do I have to physically take them out and count or is there a way to tell without taking it apart, this also goes for how many splines my axles are, how do i tell. HELP! Thanks

I have a dana 30 front axle with the vaacum disconnect which I have replaced with a posi-lock. I was thinking about welding my spider gears on the front for a cheap locker. my question is, if I do this will i experience increased tire wear since the axle will not be truely solid unless I engage the posi-lock, i.e. the tires will be able to spin at two different speeds. Second, will I experience a decrease in turning, if so why? I pretty much drive my car to go mudding and back home and welding the gears would only be temporary until I save up enough for a selectable. Also, I am new at this so sorry, I need to know exactly how to tell what size gears I have, do I have to physically take them out and count or is there a way to tell without taking it apart, this also goes for how many splines my axles are, how do i tell. HELP! Thanks