• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

slip yoke boot question

matt vanjeep

NAXJA Forum User
I've been chasing down a driveline vibration for a few months now.. I have a two inch AAL on a 97 cherokee sport, and with a 1 inch tcase drop it's been vibe free for about two years since lifting. A couple months ago I noticed a rear end shimmy (passenger seat wiggling away) and went the rotation, balance, alignment route. Shimmy still showed itself at 90km, disappears after 100km. Next up, I tightened everything I could get a wrench on, and changed both rear d/s ujoints. Shimmy is still in the exact speed range. I'm now going to have to drive with out the shaft and see if that elimnates it.

My question is, when I last put the shaft back on, i had to replace the factory hose clamps that hold the boot over the slip yoke and tcase spline. I used the standard hex hose clamps to hold it back in place. Does the head of the screw that tightens the hose clamp enough to throw a shaft off balance? I wouldn't think it would be that sensitive enough to throw off balancing, but then again, the weights welded onto the shaft for balance aren't that big either. Should I go and put the slimmer/sleeker factory boot clamps on instead?

I'm thinking this wouldn't be bad enough to notice in the drivers seat, which is why I'm pretty sure a shimming is in order next. Has anyone noticed a decreased pinion angle from removing just the very smallest leaf out of the pack? I figure I would try that, and then shim if that still doesn't do the trick. I realize you can only do so much for me w/o true pinion angles so I'm gonna cross that off before doing anything. thanks guys

Just for grins, what is the condition of your transmission mount?

Screw clamps for hoses are used to balance driveshafts sometimes.