• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Clunking noise when shifting

TYphoon

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys, I just got a 96 XJ 5spd with 221K on it. The clutch is pretty tight and all the miles are highway. It is in amazing condition. With that said, when I shift into second, and third, it makes a "clunking" noise coming from the back of the vehicle. I am new to stick shift, I just got my license so I have been driving alot more. I have ridden a clutch dirtbike for years so I understand the idea and picked it up really quick. I have been able to make it not as bad as I have learned the tricks to shifting in my XJ. I can make it not happen but that is only when I clutch, shift, then rev it a bit higher and let the clutch out really slowly, but that is bad for my clutch. Any Ideas guys?
:wave:

You should inspect your transmission/tc mount, check for any loose/missing exhaust hanger parts, and of course inspect the driveshaft and its u-joints.

Check the springs and their mounting hardware along with the shocks.

i too have this noise i have a 99 5spd i have replaced the transmission mount in mine but the noise stilll exsist it did cure other noises though
clater from transfer case linkage and stuff
but not this i have about 1/8 turn of backlash in my rear drive shaft
the drivetrain guy at my shop says its just slop in from the transmission back and im gonna have this noise i dunno though. i too can make it not happen if i slowly release the clutch but then semis pass me when i take off from a standing stop
thinkin about adjustin the pionion backlash when i install my locker.
see if that cures it its not that anoyyin though

i too have this noise i have a 99 5spd i have replaced the transmission mount in mine but the noise stilll exsist it did cure other noises though