• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

head gasket?

WebDog

NAXJA Forum User
I have been battling a heat issue for about 6 months now, I swapped in a all new cooling system 3 row rad and new hoses, pump, thermostat. All new, but it still runs hot and when i am under load going up hills the temp climbs to 225 - 240 F.

I also have coolant loss, to the overflow tank because of the temp.

Could this be a small head gasket leak super heating the coolant?

Does this look normal?

3668914784_c677869117_b.jpg

Hard to tell with the glare in that picture, kinda looks like water in the oil, but not sure due to the glare.

I have seen traces of overnight water condensate on the dip stick tube/ dip stick, that disappear after repeated in and out withdrawals of the dip stick.

I would keep a real close eye on it.

There is a block tester kit at Autozone you can borrow ($20 deposit, free rental, just buy the $7 test solution) to test for head gasket leaks in the coolant. Did mine a few days ago to verify if I had a small leak or not. Mine was OK.

Maybe ill try to rent that kit, that photo was after about 5-6 wipes of the stick.

Sounds like a plan. Keep in mind that head gasket leaks can be one way, and there are many paths, so while the rental test is a good test, it won't identify all possible head gasket leaks.

You can also rent (free, $90 deposit) a radiator and radiator cap tester (if yours is 91 or newer with the real radiator cap, not the Renix plastic football/turtle bottle) to pressure test the coolant system.