• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New to forum, also new to Jeep

poorboy_616

NAXJA Forum User
I am new here, as the title says, I am also new to Jeep in general.

I currently own a 1987 2dr. XJ, 4.0L, AW4 (was a 5spd at one point), Command-Trac t-case, Trac-loc Rear diff.

I will be posting TONS of questions, so be aware, be very aware.....

Here are a few Pics of the beast:

3024245_1_full.jpg

3024245_4_full.jpg

3024245_2_full.jpg

3024245_3_full.jpg

The pics above were taken at my parents house just after I bought it. All below were taken at home in Long Beach, Wa.

I replaced the broken matching seats with those from an 89 2dr. I wil most likely re-upholster these with a more matching color later...
3024245_12_full.jpg

3024245_13_full.jpg

3024245_14_full.jpg

Nothing says it's Daddies Cherokee like a carseat!!

3024245_11_full.jpg

And the Mystery sticker....
Located to the left of the pressure bottle, on the firewall. It says Property if USNPS. I googled it and found it be US National Park Service. This would explain the plugs in the roof and "A" Pillar.

3024245_22_full.jpg

It seems to be drooling a little...Do you think its rabid???

I have a carfax report on the way, so maybe I can actually get full confirmation of the use by USNPs.

Last edited:
Nice! Which rear axle? Most of the 87-89 forestry service and park service XJ's around here have the D-44.

Now what you need to do is spend all of your extra money and time on it right up to the point that your wife is ready to file divorce papers.....then you will be like the rest of us!

I found that my wife's threshold for spending on a new rig is 2k. I found that out on the last rig, I'm at $2500 on the new rig and she hasn't balanced the check book lately, it may get interesting!