• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

97+ ABS pump removal with pictures

xj_mike

NAXJA Forum User
Since I have had a number of people ask me about the removal of the ABS pump and how I did the brake lines, I figured I should get some pictures and post up what I did. This was performed on a 2000 XJ. I think 97+ XJ’s would be the same but don’t know about earlier. Doing this also assumes you are very good at making double flared ends and can do this in the engine compartment, in a tight area. Luckily I have a lot of experience with doing double flares. Reason for removing the ABS pump is, according to the FSM, to bled the pump correctly, you have to hook it to a computer that will cycle the pump and valves. Outside of a dealer, I don’t know where you could have this done. Since I removed all my wheel sensors, it was easier to remove the pump and not deal with it.

The flare nuts on the prop valve are the original ones. I just cut them from the factory lines. The rear line is modified to fit so this one does not need to be replaced. The two front lines were cut after the ABS pump, bent, flared (with stand 3/16” double flare nuts) and hooked to the Tee. A new line was bent from the Tee to the prop valve, using the stock double flare nut at the prop valve end.