NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association  

Go Back   NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association > NAXJA Unibody Jeep Technical Forums > Jeep Cherokee XJ (1984 - 2001) > Modified Tech Discussion
HOME Member FAQ Sponsor Info Rules Bylaws E-Mail

Modified Tech Discussion Forum for Tech related discussion for Modified XJ's and MJ's.

Old October 18th, 2016, 18:51
NAXJA Forum User

New guy build-The Family Truckster

My name is Brad and I'm new to and the XJ world. I've have several off road trucks in the past, Toyota pre-runner with 3 link, full cage, custom a arms, full cage etc. 74 Blazer, and a few other Toyota trucks.

Those toys have been gone for years now. I now have a young son and needed something that can fit 4 people and go on adventures.

I picked up this 97 XJ with 124k miles for a bargain. Salvage title due to the dented door/fender/rocker. It has the typical 4.0/AW4/231 combo with the 8.25 rear end.

The build plan is a do it all adventure rig with some Jeepspeed go fast thrown in.

Front suspension:

I'm building a 4 link with panhard bar with Ruffstuff parts. Keeping the D30 but adding WJ brakes/steering etc. 5.5 Deaver springs, Bilstien 7100 shocks and prothane coil inserts.

Rear suspension

Deaver G9 springs with Bilstien 7100 through the floor.

Other details.
Full Ruffstuff frame reinforcement, T&J interior cage, home built bumpers and sliders. 35" tires.

I'm looking for input on gearing and front locker recommendations.

4:56 vs 4:88 gears?

Planning a Aussie locker for the rear, but can decided on the front.

Leave it open to preserve the D30?
Throw in a lunch box locker and be gentle with the go pedal? LSD worth it?

Pictures make any thread better right?

Old October 18th, 2016, 21:48
Sierra Chapter Treasurer

For go fast i bet most are going to say rear locker first. For rock crawling imo front locker first.