• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Joel's multipurpose XJ build (rocks/boulevard)

frijolee

NAXJA Forum User
Hi y’all.

I’m a SoCal resident and professional engineer but I’m still a little new to the world of Jeeps in general and XJ’s in particular… That’s just my way of asking forgiveness up front if some of this build comes across intelligent and some of it is pretty ignorant. I’ve been lurking on here for a while now and I’ve been reading a lot. Figured it was time to get a thread started... I would have put this into advanced fab and engineering but as a newbie apparently I don't have rights yet, we'll see if I'm worthy after this gets going.

Step one: Find a vehicle that I can use to:
-Serve as back-up vehicle when my daily is under the knife
-Carry 4 people in relative comfort (family man)
-Take camping / throw a mtn bike in the back
-Haul a car trailer in a pinch
-Build some cool *ish and take it wheeling, but keep it looking nice enough to be respectable
-Find something interesting so I won’t regret selling my motorcycle (again family man)

Winner: 1999 XJ, black on black on black…

IMG_1114.jpg

Paid a little more than the typical going rate, but it was built very close to exactly what I wanted, 96+ meant it had the slightly more modern styling, and it was in stellar condition inside and out. I was also glad it’d had a lot of routine service done because I have enough projects that I didn’t feel like chasing oil leaks and the like. Finally, from what I read, ‘99 is the money year to have: something about head cracking issues on the 00/01s due to different castings with a coil on plug setup?