NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association  

Go Back   NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association > NAXJA's Technical Forums > OEM Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Users List Calendar Mark Forums Read
HOME Member FAQ Sponsor Info Rules Donate Bylaws Store Members Chat E-Mail

OEM Tech Discussion Forum for OEM (Original Equipment) or stock XJs and MJs.

Old December 2nd, 2010, 22:32
NAXJA Forum User

Heater blows luke warm not hot??

newbie here.. tried the search, but nothing.. so my question is, is this a common issue w/xj's? just picked up a 99xj 4.0 last week and turned on the heat the other day and it doesnt get hot at all?? now, both heater core lines are hot so im assuming the thermostat is ok right? ive been reading that maybe a reverse flush of the heater core might help??

and my last question is, is my jeep supposed to have a "Heater Control Valve"?? looking at teamcherokee's site they have a some for 99-01's.. well, i dont... just 2 lines from the wp/thermostat housing to the firewall... any help would be appreciated thx -Jason
Old December 2nd, 2010, 22:52
NAXJA Forum User

Re: Heater blows luke warm not hot??

Yes, your heater core is most likely clogged. My '99 and my dad's '01 blow amazingly hot air. Another '99 I got rid of last year didn't blow hot air, and when I parted it out, I found the heater core was completely clogged with junk.

No, you're not supposed to have a heater control valve like the older Cherokees.
Old December 2nd, 2010, 23:40
NAXJA Forum User

Sounds like someone already tried to flush the core. Probably broke the HCV when taking the hoses off. Its okay to bypass it, just means hot coolant will be running through the heater core all the time (guess not in your case). The blend door separates the hot and cold side so it should not make a difference in the summer.

You could try flushing it but it may need to be replaced. Is Florida not warm? I know here the heater is the first thing I check before buying any vehicle.