• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Closed Loop temperature?

fabjunkie

NAXJA Forum User
Does anyone know the specific operating temperature at which the computer goes into closed loop?? I have a 91...with stock computer.

Does anyone know the specific operating temperature at which the computer goes into closed loop?? I have a 91...with stock computer.

The actual temp will vary depending on your coolant temp sensor reading, but normal closed loop temp is anything above 170 degress for 91 and up XJ's.

Is there some accessible reference data for that ?

Would be appreciated.

Thanks

Don't believe me? :D

I've been a tech at Jeep/Chrysler dealerships for many years. Everything I have been taught is 170 is the closed loop threshold. Newer cars will be in closed loop after only a few seconds of run time regardless of temp.

Don't believe me? :D

I've been a tech at Jeep/Chrysler dealerships for many years. Everything I have been taught is 170 is the closed loop threshold. Newer cars will be in closed loop after only a few seconds of run time regardless of temp.

heh heh ...

Its not that I don't believe you ....

Its just that it seems that for every 100 people that get asked - there seems to 100 different answers .... :dunno:

Even here on NAXJA. ;)

So many even seem to think the thermostat sends magic messages to the computer and so on. :rolleyes:

... And you offered up your employment history as the verification of your information ... Thank You

Well aware that "newer" vehicles are in close loop early ... An OBDII scanner solves that easy ... 97 XJ change over at approx 68'f coolant temp and within minutes of startup ... climate regardless according to feedback so far.

More interested in why earlier models would need coolant temps of up to 170'f to reach closed loop ???