• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Is a Jeep Cherokee a good car?

SkimB92

NAXJA Forum User
I am 17 and looking to get my first car, I am a pretty good driver ( I drive like a grandmother), and I like trucks and SUVs over small cars.

My mother wants me to get an expensive almost new small Japanese car, which frankly I do not like.

my parents are looking to spend somewhere between 4,000 and 7,000 dollars on a used Cherokee, model years 1997-2001. I think i've done more than enough research on the vehicle and yet my mother still thinks its a bad idea.

I don't want to be a demanding, spoiled teen, but I'd much rather have less money spent on a car that I actually like.

My mom thinks that 100K miles is terrible and it will break down, and she thinks that it will be expensive to repair, which is quite the opposite of what i've researched. Also she and my father thinks that I will roll over too easy.

So, as most of you are XJ owners, what are your thoughts on:

Repair Costs
Reliability
Mileage Issue

and What are things to look out for in Cherokees with 100-120K miles?

I will be showing her this post, so hopefully you guys can help me out.

Thanks!

If you can work on your own vehicles, then I'd get one. If you aren't capable of doing your own work, then NO.

well as a tow truck driver and off roader i seen some bad things there good until u get in a wreck with them i seen one get hit at 25mph and looked like it was hit at 70 mhp

More power to you. As for repair costs - I bought mine for 2400 with 107k on the clock and lots and lots of rust and neglect, and between upgrading it and repairing it, I've spent around ten grand (including purchase price) and learned a LOT in the last year and a half.