• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Rebuild or swap out engine - opinions please!

Nixt

NAXJA Forum User
OK, so I am evidently just a dumb-ass in love with a truck, and I want to re-animate the poor neglected thing...

My '96 4.0 2-door has been a paperweight for over a year, after a long series of errors trying to diagnose and fix a bad rough-run issue. (See here, and here)

I'm a mechanical novice, so I hadn't done what now seems obvious - pull off the valve cover. I found a loose pushrod (way loose). Had a mechanic neighbor look at it. He says collapsed/bad lifter and bent pushrod, and something about the part the pushrod slides in.

So its major engine work to fix it - and I want to get opinions on which way to go and what you know about costs (the labor mostly).

The options (?):
1. Have it rebuilt - new cam & lifters, and may as well do new valves while its out. May need bottom end work - new top makes too much compression??
2. Buy a remanufactured or rebuilt engine and have it put in.
3. Buy a junkyard engine and have that put in.

As I said - I'm seriously NOT an experienced mechanic - so I need input here...

TIA

Perhaps the pushrod is bent, or the lifter is collapsed. But the issues you talk about seem to be largely intermittent. Mechanical failures of this nature are not intermittent.

Nixt said:
OK, so I am evidently just a dumb-ass in love with a truck, and I want to re-animate the poor neglected thing...

My '96 4.0 2-door has been a paperweight for over a year, after a long series of errors trying to diagnose and fix a bad rough-run issue. (See here, and here)