• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Got Brakes?

bchulett

NAXJA Member #999
Well guys here's an update....

I finally got my ill-braking '91 XJ down to the dealer to install the new $160 combination (proportion) valve I bought recently.... took a test drive and this is the biggest single improvement to date!

If you recall, I've been bitching about my brakes for two years now. As a review, since March 2000, I've spent a total of $2,793. with little or no improvements on these damn XJ brakes!

1991 XJ specs:
- original owner
- excellent service history
- 3" Rancho
- 31x10.5 BFG's
- no clunk & stopped good until 3/27/2000

Here's the chronology:
----------------------------
3/27/2000 - 114K miles ("original" rear brake shoes failed... all hydraulic components also original)

- got a brake job... the #2 special.
- new Raybestos PG Plus front rotors/pads
- new Raybestos PG Plus rear shoes/hardware kit
- turned rear drums

Cost: $480.00
result: rear shoes started sticking... clunking effect
12/19/2000 - 121K miles (after several "under-warranty" adjustments... rear shoes still sticking)

- new rear cylinders
- resurfaced outa-round drums
- warranty replaced the outa-round shoes

Cost: $126.00
result: rear shoes still sticking... pedal goes to floor under hard braking.
1/05/2001 - Involved in minor accident (slowly rear-ended F-350 as I rolled 15mph to a stop... w/brake pedal at floor)

- hurt me more than than her
- F-350 trailer hitch pushed everything back and broke the grill
- damaged ego
- deductable $100
- insurance paid $531.00

Cost: $700 ($100 + $300 ins. increase for three years)
result: brakes still don't work.... perfect driving record destroyed.
1/11/2001 - 122K miles (took the damn thing back to the tire company)

- discussed the poor brakes