• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Bump Stops

boise49ers

NAXJA Forum User
After questions about tires it sounds like I need bump stops to keep from chewing up my fenders. Here is my set up. maybe I can get a clue on what to buy to prevent it from happening. Pictures of some one elses bump stops with basically the same set up would really help.
I have a 4" trail master lift. I am going to add another 1". I have 3.75 back spacing on 31x11.5x15 LTB Swampers. No sway bars. I have cut 1/2" deep wounds in both front tires and torn my fenders to shreds down by the rocker panel where the last bolt on the flare hooks up.The inner plastic wheel wells have long since been trashed. The front isn't a problem because I have trimmed extensively. Are the bump stops the rubber thing hanging down from inside the coil spring ? Or are they on the bottom ? I have nothing on the bottom where the retailer holds it onto the suspension. Again pictures would be nice. What would be the cheapest way to prevent the tire and body damage ? I'm still putting in the extra inch , but they say that won't help the problem. I may want 32" next time though. LTB's are as brutal to the vehicle as they are to the Trails. Lots of traction though.
Thanks

Someone will probably answer with more detail, but yes- the rubber sticking down inside your coils is the bumpstop. The metal its mounted in is the bumpstop tower, and at the bottom of your coil where the retainer is is the flat pad that your bumpstops come into contact with.

One cheap way to increase your bumps is to glue hockey pucks to the bottom plate inside your coils. A fast search for "hockey puck" should show you many threads and pics.

Check out NAXJA's sponsors someone might just have a *new product* that works kind of cool for bump stops, front and rear.

hinkley