• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Extending brake lines

98XJclassic

NAXJA Forum User
I am finally going to extend my rear brake line, going to the wreckers in the morning. Is it true that I need the rear brake line off any year YJ? TJ work too? Brake lines are something I've never done before, do I need special tools? And once I've replaced it I guess I have to bleed the system? Difficult to bleed at the rear drums? Thanks for any help.

the "wrecker" ? you mean used lines? wow , thats bad ju -ju there... aside from simple problems like system contamination, you are banking your physical well-being on a part with unknow origin and questionable integrity. spend a few bucks and get some stainless braided from RE or rusty's. besides you may not even be able to salvage one off a used vehicle. brake lines constantly flex and end up cracking, even if its not cracked it can be spongy on the inside, and rusty fittings as well. as far as the bleeding goes it is really easy if you have the right wrench and a friend (or a vacuum pump) do it once, buy new.

Go to the auto parts store and get a yj new line it si $20 and 4" longer!

Go to a local speedshop and have them make you up some new brakelines, whatever exact length you need (i.e. take your stock line to them, and say I need this line, only X inches longer and SS braided). CJ buddy of mine did this, and it's tons cheaper (usually) than the aftermarket SS braided lines advertised for XJs. Wish I knew of this option before I spent all that cash on RE lines.