• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Long arm upgrade...which one?

JeepAddict85

NAXJA Forum User
Looking at the Clayton and Treks Offroad long arm upgrades. Any suggestions, feedback if you have them, or reviews would be appreciated. Treks is bolt on I think? And looks like the clayton requires some welding.
I do like the full belly pan from Treks, it offers more protection underneath.

Thanks Guys...

Well, I already have 4.5" rubicon coils/leaves on the way, so im only looking for an 'upgrade'. Ill have to look into full traction, im assuming you mean its not a radius arm setup?

I like my Clayton Kit I don't think I could break it if I wanted to.

Loving my Clayton set-up. Works great for me, and was easy to weld on. I have no experience with other Long Arm kits, but I feel very confident that the jeep itself will fold long before the Clayton arms will.

DSCN0734.jpg

So radius arm setups are not considered 4 link? Sorry if thats a dumb question...

What are the benefits to retaining the 4 link, over going with a radius?
Also, by 3 link to you mean only using 1 upper arm?

Thanks for the responses guys...

So radius arm setups are not considered 4 link? Sorry if thats a dumb question...

What are the benefits to retaining the 4 link, over going with a radius?
Also, by 3 link to you mean only using 1 upper arm?

Thanks for the responses guys...

Yes a radius arm is a type of 4-link suspension. There are a variety of suspension designs out there (wishbone, radius arm, double-triangulated 4-link, etc). Just do some research. Pirate4x4 usually has quite a bit of good information.