• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Some advice....

88manche

NAXJA Forum User
Ok so heres the deal. I need a job. I'm 16, Have my jeep, And need to pay insurance and gas bills. I've been lookin at Auto parts stores, Since I'm still too young to work at an actual shop.

I go to a tech school Called Benson Polytechnic High School. I'm majoring in automotive. My teacher is an Ex- ford shop foreman. Hes really into to the proformance thing, as am I. I know what I'm talking about. Mechanics I've talked to that I'm pretty good friends with have to "Keep reminding themselves I'm only 16." They say I have enough knoladge to work in a shop, though not old enough. Most of the time, I know more of what I'm talking about than the guy that takes my money at the parts counter. Its not just book knoladge, I know how to do alot. I can do just about anything you ask me to. Rebuild an engine? You got it. Hone out the cylinders? Done. Overhaul the Complete brake system? No problem.

I know what parts are and what they do. It sucks that people think I'm just another dumb teenager that thinks they know something about cars case they can do basic mantianance and change brakes.

I also plan on going through the "Ford ASSET" program at MT. Hood Community Collage. Its a deal where you go there for a year I think, Quarter of it in the classroom, Quarter in the shop getting paid, then back to the classroom, then back to the shop. I think I come out with some kind of degree in automotive technoligy, as well as a job at just about any ford dealership I want.

What is some advice you would give me to stepping into one of these careers as a first time thing? It really something I would like to get into at a young age, working as a parts man and then stepping out into the shop later when I'm 18.

Last edited: