• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New User (1986 XJ Vacuum Disconnect eliminator)

Tweakz

NAXJA Forum User
Hey NAXJA community! I am new to this forum and a friend recommended me here. I just purchased a 1986 Cherokee Pioneer 5 speed v6. The 4x4 currently doesn't work and the precious owner says the vacuum disconnect is bad. I'm new to 4x4 and have been finding research here and there and what I've found is that the vacuum can be faulty and untrustworthy. I was wondering what I should look into to replace it and where I should search to purchase a replacement. Thank you for all the help!

Is it lifted?
If yes, is the front driveshaft good, balanced and at the right angle to keep you from getting vibes?
If yes to both these questions, look at shimming the shift fork over for now until you decide how much you want to put into this new hobby.

If no and you have about $150 to throw at it, look into the PosiLock cable. If not at least over 4.5" lifted, get the standard length cable. I'm at 4.5 and that cable is obscenely too long and gets in the way. That way, you can engage the front axle at will.

There are other, more permanent and better solutions out there if you catch the bug and want to wheel it hard, but this is a good start and won't get you into any real trouble.

At a minimum, I would shim the fork over and make sure you get 4wd and there isn't another issue prevent it too. You likely have a vacuum leak somewhere that you'll want to fix anyway, but at least this will prove your 4wd works.