• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Unicorn Boogers????

metaldemon7

NAXJA Forum User
I hear people here talking about their AW4 transmissions slipping all the time:bawl:. I was just going through my Jan JP magazine, and on page 30 in the cheap fixes article, they talk about Lucas Stop Slip transmission fix. They say they put it in two AW4s. One they sold, and the other has 40,000 miles on it since they put it in. They say that one is still trucking. They also say that maybe it is made of Unicorn Boogers:confused1. I don't like additives as a general rule, but if it works for a while. I guess you just have to know there is a rebuild in your future.

I have no experience with LUCAS' "stop slip" but I use all of their other products and have had good luck. They have the best gear lube in the business IMHO

Slipping is normally caused by low fluid pressures. Low pressure is commonly caused by old hardened seals that don't hold the pressure.

Lacquer thinner can be used to soften rubber seals in motors and transmissions and it or a close cousin is at the heart of most stop leak/stop slip additives.

I have put a cup of lacquer thinner in at least a dozen transmissions over the years. It worked probably half the time. It isn't a permanent fix, but it can give you several more years and the cost is minimal.

In a motor, I use a cup of ATF and a cup of Lacquer Thinner. Run it for a few days before you change your oil. It will really break the crud loose in the engine.

This isn't newfangled tech. I learned it from my grandfather in the late 50's.