• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

1986 Turbo Diesel XJ Gearing?

jfiscus

NAXJA Forum User
I have a 1986 Cherokee XJ that's got a 2.1L Turbo Diesel motor. I was told it would have great gearing in the axles, but noone is sure on what it'd have. Does anyone have information on what was put in these US diesel XJs?

Also, does anyone have any usefull links for turbo diesel XJs?
This thing is a nightmare to me to work on (I've never done diesel work before).

Clicky HERE and download the parts manual.

It's not everything you will need, but will be a good start. :thumbup:

jfiscus said:
I have a 1986 Cherokee XJ that's got a 2.1L Turbo Diesel motor. I was told it would have great gearing in the axles, but noone is sure on what it'd have. Does anyone have information on what was put in these US diesel XJs?

Also, does anyone have any usefull links for turbo diesel XJs?
This thing is a nightmare to me to work on (I've never done diesel work before).

Try Al Savage and Philip at:

http://nissandiesel.dyndns.org/

They have forgoten more about diesels than most of us know combined. Their web site is about Nissan diesels, but they should be able to give you some help. Have you figured out what brand engine the diesel was?

Ecomike said:
Have you figured out what brand engine the diesel was?

Its a Renault diesel engine (all those Frenchmen can't be wrong...right).
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Douvrin_engine

You could look for the tags and try to find some identifying tags on the axle or you may just have to jack the rear end up and spin the driveshaft while counting wheel rotations to determine the gear ratio.

I'm thinking it would be lower than a 3.73... The 2.5's had a 4.56 I believe...

Definately something to check out, but I've never laid eyes on a diesel xj.

ponyracer1 said: